New York City (also known as the Big Apple) is the heaviest populated city in the U.S. and the center of the New York metro area, and one of the most populous metropolitan locations on earth. The city is called the City of New York or New York City to differentiate it from the State of New York. A global power city, New York applies a substantial impact on research, education, media and finance. New York City is home to the United Nations Headquarters and is hence a key hub for worldwide diplomacy and has been referred to as the cultural capital of the planet.

On one of the planet’s biggest natural harbors, New York is made up of five boroughs, each of which is a county of New York State. The five boroughs – Brooklyn, Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens, and Staten Island — were consolidated into a solitary city in 1896. With a census-estimated population of 8.3 million dispersed over an area of merely 300 square miles, New York City is by far the most densely inhabited city in America.

Manhattan escorts